IJsselstein, Wednesday, 5 March 2014 04:56:46

Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Home
Baclayon Home
Baclayon is in the eastern part of Bohol. It is the first municipality to be established in Bohol by the Spaniards and formerly comprised its present territory and those belonging now to Corella, Sikatuna, Alburquerque and Balilihan. This municipality was originally called Bacayan because travelers used to detour (bacay) around a rocky cliff along the shore about half kilometer from the municipal building in order to avoid going over the top of the cliff. The town was founded in 1595 by two Jesuit priests, Fr. Juan de Torres and Fr. Gabriel Sanchez who also built a stone church which is now considered as the oldest stone church in the country. In 1879, Baclayon had a population of 11,142.
Pamilacan Spanish Watchtower
Pamilacan Spanish Watchtower
Pamilacan island
Pamilacan island

Pamilacan island is part of the municipality of Baclayon. In Pamilacan island you can visit the Spanish watchtower, fish sanctuary or just enjoy the underwater beauty by snorkeling, walking around the island or just relax at the white beach.


Baclayon celebrate its town fiesta on the 8th of December in honor of Immaculate Conception.

Baclayon Police Station: +63 38 540 9301

Bank: First Consolidated Bank "FCB"

What to do and see in Baclayon:
The Church of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception and island hopping to Pamilacan.

The Church of Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception in Baclayon is one of the historical monuments that was badly damaged by the 7.2 magnitude earthquake

Our Lady of the Immaculate Conception Parish church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church
Baclayon Church

Baclayon at a glance
Population (2015): 20591
Population (2010): 18630
Population (2000): 14996
Number of households (2000): 2978
Land area: 3402 ha
Number of barangays: 17
Distance from Tagbilaran: 7 km

BarangayPopulation (2000)Households (2000)Population (2010)Population (2015)
San Isidro557107775919
San Roque102822214241478
San Vicente108120911301249
Santa Cruz103219814421913

(Based on figures from the census of 2000, 2010, and 2015 from PSA)

Jeroen Hellingman